top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShahira Zerin

Pina Colada flavours in a prawn and fried rice dish

Updated: Aug 23, 2020




I thought it would be only right to dedicate my first post to my favourite cocktail, a Pina Colada by incorporating the flavour of coconut in the prawns and the flavour of the pineapple in the fried rice. I'll include a list of the ingredients down below along with the measurements but you can substitute a lot of the ingredients and you do not need to follow the measurements exactly and an season to your preference. You can serve the dish in the pineapple if you love being extra like me and also it really captures the flavour of the pineapple if the rice is sitting in the pineapple.


Firstly, you should prep your veggies and fruit. I soaked my pineapple in some water and salt then washed all my veggies, I used a medium yellow onion and diced it, two cloves of garlic you can add more or less if you'd like, a thumb sized piece of ginger minced you can skip this step but garlic and ginger and go so well together and it gives the rice great flavour. I also chopped two spring onions along with a green chilli pepper again you can skip this step but I feel like the heat from the chilli balances out the sweetness from the pineapple. You can then wash the pineapple and cut it into half, you'll only need half the pineapple, I saved the other half for a snack. As you are cutting the pineapple there will be a lot of juice which you can drain into a cup and save for later. This dish is great way to get your five a day in so I added half a cup of frozen peas, half a red bell pepper and some carrots if you want to add any more vegetables you can do.


I made two servings of rice so I used a cup of rice, make sure to wash the rice before you cook it, I used a rice cooker but you can cook your rice in a stove if you don't have a rice cooker, for best results use left over rice for the fried rice.


While the rice cooks you can tend to your prawns, I used raw jumbo king prawns, you can use cooked prawns if you'd like because you don't have to clean them or remove the veins but I used raw prawns so they don't shrink as much. I washed my prawns with lemon juice and vinegar then removed the veins, this can be lengthy process if you haven't done it before and can be quite gross so wear gloves if you need to. After de-veining the prawns pat them dry with some kitchen towel on both sides so the coating can stick to the prawns. Next you need to get two stations ready for the coconut prawns, first station is for the egg mixture, crack one egg and add 3 tablespoons of coconut milk into the egg mixture, you can skip this step but I wanted to give the prawns a coconutty flavour. The second station will be for the flour, you can use plain flour or corn flour whatever you have use about 1/3 of a cup of the flour and 3/4 of a cup desiccated coconut or coconut flour, I only used the coconut flour because I couldn't find any desiccated coconut but either will work I also seasoned the flour with garlic powder, onion powder, all purpose seasoning and white pepper you can season it with whatever you like or leave it plain. First dip the prawns in the egg mixture then coat with flour and coconut flour leave the prawns on the side to set so the coating can stick to the prawns.


We can now move onto the cooking of the fried rice, the rice should be cooked by now so you can take it off the heat and and set aside, it is now time to cook the veggies, heat some oil in a pan and fry the onions, spring onions, garlic, ginger and chillies over medium heat, I added some additional seasoning of all purpose seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder, after the onions are browning you can add the vegetables along with the pineapple let cook until soft, you can then make a sauce for the rice with the pineapple juice which was set aside earlier, add some lemon juice, soy sauce and fish sauce (this is optional) and mix, then add to the rice and toss the rice and keep stirring. I cracked two eggs and mixed it into the rice gradually rather than all at once. The rice is already cooked so you can take it off the heat. You can then chop some scallions and add as garnish for some freshness, and serve in the pineapple.


We can now fry the shrimp in some coconut oil over medium low heat, the prawns cook quickly so make sure the heat is on low as over cooking the prawns can make it rubbery and make it shrink. Fry until the prawns are golden brown on each side then take them off the heat and place over kitchen towel so it can soak up the oil or over a cooling rack to avoid the prawns being soggy. Once they have cooled down a little the prawns are ready and you can place above the rice or on the side and you're ready to eat.


I hope you enjoy the recipe and let me know how it goes if you tried it! If you'd like to see some pictures and how I made it you can follow me on TikTok and Instagram @shefshahira. Happy Eating!


Ingredients


For the prawns:


-Jumbo king sized prawns cooked or raw

-1 egg

-1/3 cup plain flour or corn flour

-2/3 cup of coconut flour or desiccated coconut

-all purpose flour

-onion powder

-garlic powder

-white pepper

-3 tbsp coconut milk

-coconut oil


Pineapple Fried Rice


-half a pineapple

-a cup of rice

-pineapple juice

-fish sauce

-soy sauce

-lemon juice

-half a cup of frozen peas

-half a bell pepper

-carrots peeled into ribbons

-2 loves garlic

-a thumb sized piece of ginger

-1 green chilli pepper

-spring onions

-scallions

-2 eggs

-a medium yellow onion

-white pepper

-all purpose seasoning

-garlic powder

-onion powder










11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page